Uninsured Drivers

California Car Insurance Laws and Requirements

To ensure that all drivers can provide for financial and medical expenses resulting from an accident, most states require drivers to purchase auto insurance to operate a vehicle. If you are new to California, you might not know what coverage is necessary to purchase. The last thing you want to happen to you is getting caught with the wrong coverage.

VIP 360 has compiled a short and easy guide to lead you in the right direction when it comes time to purchase auto insurance. Let’s review what you need to know about insurance laws and requirements in California.

Mandatory Coverage

The state of California requires that all motor vehicles registered in the state are covered by a minimum level of liability auto insurance. Every driver who operates a vehicle statewide, including those with out-of-state licenses or unlicensed drivers, are required to follow the minimum insurance requirements.

You are required to have the following types of liability coverage in California:

  • Bodily Injury Liability (BI)– When you are found legally responsible for a car accident, bodily injury liability coverage is the part of your insurance policy that pays for the costs associated with injuries to the other person or people involved. This coverage also provides a legal defense if you are sued for damages. You are required to possess bodily injury coverage of at least $15,000 per person, and up to $30,000 per accident in California.
  • Property Damage Liability (PD)- Property damage liability coverage is required by law in most states. It typically helps cover the cost of repairs if you are at fault for a car accident that damages another vehicle or property such as a fence or building front. Property damage liability coverage usually does not cover damage to your own vehicle. In California, drivers are required to have a minimum of $5,000 in Property Damage Liability coverage.

Proof of Insurance

It is also important to carry proof of your insurance policy with you whenever you are behind the wheel in California. Make sure to carry an insurance ID card that lists the name of the policyholder, insured vehicle, policy number, and the start and end dates of your policy.

When you are pulled over without enough evidence of insurance, you could get your vehicle impounded and your driver’s license or vehicle registration could be suspended. Fines in California can range from $100 – $200 for the first offense, and $200 – $500 for each subsequent offense within three years of the first.

These are the main insurance laws and requirements in California. Contact a professional from VIP 360 to get up-to-date information on everything that you will need to know about car insurance requirements in California. In search of better coverage with lower rates? Call VIP 360 Insurance today to see how we can help you!

Auto Insurance Form

Auto Insurance Form
Uninsured Drivers

Understanding California SR-22 Insurance

Getting your license suspended or revoked after a serious driving conviction such as a DUI in California is never a good feeling. If you don’t have SR-22 insurance, you will not be able to legally operate a vehicle. Lucky for you, VIP 360 Insurance offers the best SR22 Insurance rates that California has to offer. We can help get you back on your feet and hitting the road in no time.

What is an SR-22?                                                                                        

An SR-22 is a vehicle liability insurance document required by most state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices for “high-risk” insurance policies. In other words, it shows that you have necessary car insurance coverage when your license has been suspended after racking up a serious driving offense like a DUI. Having an SR-22 lets you reinstate your driving privileges. Obtaining a restricted license does not allow much freedom considering that it only allows you to drive to and from your place of work.

How to Obtain an SR-22 in California

It’s quite simple to obtain an SR-22 in California. All you need to do is request one from your insurance company. Once you receive an SR-22 form from them, they will forward it on to the DMV. That’s where we come in, we’ve got you covered.

Depending on your level of offense, you may need to have your SR-22 for several years. The fee to obtain one is a small price to pay for having liability coverage that allows you to get back on the road. Possessing an SR-22 is the most reliable way to get you back in the driver’s seat.

Contact VIP 360 Insurance for Your SR-22

The power of an SR-22 cannot be denied in California. Let us help you get out on the open road again. The sooner you file for an SR-22, the better. We have the best rates in California and always give everyone the VIP treatment! Call us today for a free quote 800-254-9164.

 

Auto Insurance Form

Auto Insurance Form